I found this great blog Radish Boy, it that has easy to follow gluten free recipes. These are gluten free oat matzoh, that I made for our seder tonight. Matzoh is unleavened bread eaten on Passover, the holiday that celebrates the escape of the Jewish people from slavery in Egypt.
According to Jewish law, matzoh must be made from one of the five grains traditionally eaten in Egypt that could become leavened. These grains are wheat, barley, rye, spelt or oats. It is made quickly, so that the grains don’t have time to ferment and leaven the bread. No more than 18 minutes can pass from the time that flour and water are mixed together to the time that the bread is finished in order for the bread to be considered matzoh.
Unfortunately for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it is difficult to find gluten free matzoh, and it can’t be made from alternative grains such as rice, buckwheat or quinoa. There are several companies that sell gluten free oat matzoh, made specifically for Passover.
So in an attempt to follow the rules, I made gluten free oat matzoh using oat flour and water, and following the 18 minute time limit.
Here’s the process:
2 cups gluten free oat flour
1 cup water
Preheat the oven to 475 degrees. In a bowl, mix the flour and water. Spread a thin layer of oat flour on a board and then knead the dough until it becomes a workable, about 5 minutes. Roll the dough into a snake and cut into inch size pieces. Roll each piece into a thin circle, and prick all over with a fork. Bake for 7 minutes or until lightly browned around the edges. Make sure that the entire process takes only 18 minutes from start to finish. These matzoh will be very crisp and have a delightful, nutty taste.
Technically, these are not Kosher for Passover because the oat flour I used was not supervised by a Rabbi to ensure that it did not ferment or become contaminated during processing. But I think it is a good substitute to teach our kids about the meaning of Passover, without being too strict about the law.